Spread the love

This is India in 3400 BCE; a land bound by the Himalayas in the north, washed by the Indian Ocean at its southern tip and bordered by the Eastern and Western Seas. Also known as Jambudweep or the Island of Jambu Tree, it included the modern nations of Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

The North Indian subcontinent was referred to as the Sapt Sindhu, the land of the seven rivers: Indus, Saraswati, Yamuna, Ganga, Sarayu, Brahmaputra and Narmada. The Narmada River, which bisects central India, served as the southern border for North India.

Major Kingdoms were that of Kosala, Videha, Kekaya, Kashi, Dakshin Kosala, Lanka etc. Kosala was ruled by King Dashrath, who was also the Emperor of all of the Sapt Sindhu. Dashrath had three wives: Queen Kaushalya hailed from Dakshin Kosala, Queen Kaikeyi from Kekaya, and Queen Sumitra from Kashi.

Videha ruled by King Janak and Kekaya by King Ashwapati. Lanka was an island kingdom ruled by King Ravana.