Spread the love
vayuputras map

In ancient times, the Indian subcontinent (including the modern nations of Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka) was called by one of two names. The first was Bharatvarsh – literally, the land ruled by the legendary emperor, Bharat. The second name was Jambudweep, the island of the Jambu tree.


In that period, the North Indian subcontinent was referred to as the Sapt Sindhu, the land of the seven rivers: Indus, Saraswati, Yamuna, Ganga, Sarayu, Brahmaputra and Narmada. The Narmada River, which bisects central India, served as the southern border for North India. In the first book of the Shiva Trilogy, The Immortals of Meluha, we travel with Shiva as he explores the land of ancient India, more than 4000 years ago. Most of his time in the first book is spent in the empire of the Suryavanshis, called Meluha -the land of pure life. Meluha is based in the areas of the modern Indian provinces of Kashmir, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat, and all of the country of Pakistan. It also includes parts of eastern Afghanistan.


In the second book of the Shiva Trilogy, The Secret of the Nagas, Shiva travels primarily through the empire of the Chandravanshis which is called Swadweep, the island of the individual. Swadweep comprises the modern Indian provinces of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Tripura.


In the third book, The Oath of the Vayuputras; we travel to Magadh and Kashi on River Ganga, Kingdom of Branga between Ganga and Brahmaputra, Panchavati on River Godavari, and Pariha or modern Iran, etc. accompanying Shiva and his allies. We end up on the banks of holy Manasarovar Lake at the foot of holy Mount Kailash.